My thoughts of Colosseum

Colosseum, that one place where no one goes. I’m kidding.In a recent update, the colosseum was added and brought us another reason to play. If you’re unsure and new to what the colosseum is, you can find everything you’d like to know here.

So what do I think you may ask?

When it first arrived I thought it would be amazing, finally giving me something to do after hitting 50 (Other then raids, but those have lock outs – sadface). I entered with my Knight and thought  “Man, I’m going to kick ass here!” and I couldn’t be anymore wrong.

The colosseum is where you fight mobs and players in elimination round like structure. With that in mind, I figured a tank like myself would survive most of the rounds and surely, I did.. on my first try. I guess, everyone was new and didn’t know what they were doing – that all changed the second time I tried it.

During my first try I was doing okay, slamming people sideways, knocking them head over heels and claiming my deserved kill. I was happy, until I managed to worm my way to the last three rounds. I guess by that point the last six of us knew now what we were supposed to do and realized that mobs are just a distraction and the real goal is to pummel everyone else. For a moment, everyone looked at each other in one of those rare scary in-game  immersion moments – and knew they had to get rid of a certain tank. Me.

Some what still scared of that moment, I thought nothing of it and moved into position next to the one guy “????” – yeah that guy. He was a Ranger and I thought “Squishy character alert! Time to remove this inferior player. You know, trying to move next to someone during the minute before game start is not exactly the smartest nor sneakiest thing to do. Everyone can see you and it’s not like they don’t know what you’re doing – because they do.

The clock hit zero and I buffed myself (Should’ve done that earlier) and charged into that ranger. Chipping 30% of his health away I thought I was the man, the king, the emperor of Colosseum. That changed when he placed his trap and did that crafty jump back. I was stuck. Like a tank in a tank trap ( I know right? ). I knew it and everyone else knew it.  I was boned. I used my Shield of Fortress or Fortress of Shield (Which ever one makes more sense to  you) and surely enough, everyone around me stopped their busy actions and turned towards me for an easy kill.

The deed was done. I was killed. But not eliminated! I brushed off my shoulders and cracked my knuckles for another go – I went blank. Death after death I was trapped by that craft ranger who I’m not surprised, probably ended up being the Champion of that instance. I was eliminated, shocked and oddly okay with what happened. I learnt what not to do even though I repeated that mistake countless, I still learnt and importantly had fun.

Overall, it’s a fun addition to the game – not something that you would use to draw more players it but something to ease the tension in everyday game life. I highly recommend everyone to give it a go and even if you suck, you still get BP (Blood Points) which you can use to purchase PVP gear in Prontera (Even though it’s ridiculously expensive).

Leave a comment