My thoughts of Ragnarok Online 2 – So far

Time for another “My thoughts of” and today’s special piece will cover what I think of Ragnarok Online 2 , at its current state.When I started to play, I thought that this might just be another generic MMORPG, but there was something I just couldn’t put my finger on – until I began to play more of it. It was the community. Something about the games community just speaks to me, everyone is just generally nice and welcoming. You barely see any of those elitists who claim almighty glory that won’t raid or party with anyone inferior and that just makes me happy. Those kind of people generally are the sign of a bad start or an early sign of the games down fall, and don’t get me wrong, there are plenty games that have had their communities turned right around. It just takes the effort of everyone involved.But with this game, it’s different. It’s hard to judge a games community so early in its life, but from what I can see so far – it’s a really nice place to be at. Somewhere you don’t have to worry too much if you’re going to be attacked for being weak or a noob. Though I can’t speak for every situation, because there will be times where the complete opposite of what I’m writing WILL happen but to me, it’s a rare occasion.

You may take a quick glance at the game, especially the UI and the graphics and quickly think it a generic MMORPG. But you really need to take in the account of how the community responds to it and how they respond to each other. Just about everyone I meet dismisses the claims that it’s like another generic MMORPG and you can take that as fanboyism or fangirlism – but to me, they’re just ignoring the pointless visuals and enjoying the game.

I actually like how the game looks with its visuals and music. They all just fit together nicely and it works well. It’s no Crysis 3 but it’s a specific art style that everyone can enjoy. I’m glad they didn’t go with a semi realistic art style like that of Tera or Rift, but kept it similar to the cartoonish feel of the original Ragnarok Online. If there’s anything I don’t like about it, is the UI. It’s just so clunky and distracting – not to mention how much it takes over precious screen real estate. A more modern simplified UI would’ve done them wonders, and probably help separate the gap further between them and another MMORPG.

I cannot play any game for that matter without someone with me. Friendship is important, especially for mmorpgs (You can play alone but for the full experience, a friend is amazing) So I began to play this game with my friends – and that was a good choice.

With friends you start to ignore the little tidbits that generic mmorpgs have that just isn’t in the mood to innovate and focus more on the game and less on “This game OR That game” . Once you’re over that hurdle you can start enjoying the game for what it is – a fun game.

2 thoughts on “My thoughts of Ragnarok Online 2 – So far

  1. Awesome blog, I’m definitely subscribing by email. That’s pretty much what I love about the game and let’s hope it stays that way. Greetings from Venezuela.

Leave a comment